Tuesday, November 06, 2018

Incumbents Win Oconee County Board Of Education And Watkinsville Council Races

***Turnout Lower Than 2016***

Republican incumbents today easily defeated their Democratic challengers in the two Oconee County Board of Education races, and incumbents in the three nonpartisan Watkinsville City Council races held off challengers as well.

Oconee County voters favored Republicans in statewide races, with 69.8 percent selecting Republican Brian Kemp for governor versus 29.0 percent voting for Democrat Stacey Abrams and 1.2 percent selecting Libertarian Ted Metz.

Most other races in Oconee County for state offices showed similar splits along party lines.

Turnout was 75.5 percent, up from 60.8 percent in 2014 but down from 85.1 percent in 2016.

Of the 20,783 Oconee County voters, 11,709, or 56.3 percent, had cast a ballot in early voting.

Watkinsville Council

Incumbent Marci Campbell received 61.0 percent of the vote for Post 3 on the Watkinsville City Council to 38.4 percent for challenger Scott Brannon.


Incumbent Christine Tucker received 53.1 percent of the vote in the Post 4 race. Mike Link, a former Council Member, received 46.8 percent.

Incumbent Dan Matthews received 51.4 percent of the vote in a three way race.

Bill Mayberry received 20.1 percent of the vote and Lee Morgan received 28.3 percent.

Watkinsville has 1,982 registered voters, and 1,463 (73.8 percent) cast a ballot in the Council races.

Board Of Education

Incumbent Republican Amy Parrish received 73.5 percent of the vote for Post 2 on the Board of Education.


Democratic Andrea Wellnitz received 26.4 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Republican Kim Argo received 73.3 percent of the vote in the Post 3 race.

Democrat Fran Thompson got 26.7 percent of the vote.

Nearly all of the voters in the county who cast a ballot voted in the Board of Education race (97.4 percent) even though it was far down on a long ballot.

Congress And General Assembly

Oconee County voters gave incumbent Republican Congressman Jody Hice 71.5 percent of their votes, to 28.4 percent for Tabitha Johnson-Green. Oconee County is in the 10th Congressional District.


In the Senate District 46 race, incumbent Republican Senator Bill Cowsert got 71.9 percent of the Oconee County vote to 28.1 percent for Democrat Marisue Hilliard.

Republican Houston Gaines got 69.6 percent of the vote in Oconee County in House District 117, and incumbent Democrat Deborah Gonzalez got 30.4 percent.

Republican Marcus Wiedower received 71.0 percent of Oconee County’s vote in House District 119, and incumbent Democrat Jonathan Wallace got 29.0 percent.

Results for those parts of Senate District 46 and House District 117 and House District 119 outside Oconee County are incomplete at this time (11:30 p.m.).

No comments: