Friday, March 11, 2016

Daniell Unopposed In May Primary For Oconee County Board Of Commissioners Chair

Odom, Cowsert Get Challengers

John Daniell will run unopposed for Chair of the Oconee County Board of Commissioners in the May 24 Republican primary and in the November general election, unless someone files to run as an independent during qualifying from June 27 to July 12.

No one filed to challenge Daniell during the five days of qualifying that ended at noon today, and no one filed to run as a Democrat for any Oconee County office.

Melvin Davis stood firm on his decision to retire as Chair of the Board of Commissioners after 16 years in that post. He did not file for reelection.

Brent James Beaver, 1340 Calls Creek Circle, just outside Watkinsville, a school counselor, filed today to run for Post 1 and Chair of the Oconee County Board of Education. Incumbent Chair Tom Odom, a retired educator, filed for reelection on Monday.

Also today, Patricia Daugherty, 5041 Price Mill Road, just outside Bishop, a retired educator, filed to run for the state Senate from the 46th District. Incumbent Bill Cowsert, an Athens attorney, filed for reelection on Monday.

Dramatic Change In Commission

The candidate filings this week mean that the Oconee County Board of Commissioners will change dramatically after the Nov. 8 elections.

John Daniell

The Commission will have a new Chair, either Daniell or some unknown challenger who files as an independent.

Post 1 will be filled by Penny Mills, Mark Thomas, or an independent. Incumbent Jim Luke did not file for reelection.

Daniell resigned his Post 2 position, and that Commission seat will be filed in a special election on Nov. 8.

Post 3 Commissioner William “Bubber” Wilkes is not up for reelection and will retain is seat.

Post 4 Commissioner Mark Saxon filed for reelection, but Sarah Bell also filed for the seat. One of them or an independent candidate will take that position.

So two of the five seats will be held by someone not on the Commission at present, and the Chair position will be held by someone new, though possibly by Daniell, who already is on the Commission.

Other Races

Rep. Regina Quick and Rep. Chuck Williams, the county’s representatives in the General Assembly, qualified for reelection. No one filed to run against them.

The county’s four constitutional officers, Sheriff Scott Berry, Superior Court Clerk Angela Elder-Johnson, Probate Court Judge David Anglin, and Tax Commissioner Jennifer Riddle, also qualified for reelection. Anglin’s race is nonpartisan, but the other three will run as Republicans.

Only Sheriff Scott Berry among the four has opposition. Kevin "Chappy" Hynes, who lists his occupation as chaplain, qualified to run against Berry in the May Republican primary.

Incumbent Ed Carson and Dale Rogers have qualified to run for Coroner.

Incumbent Board of Education member Tim Burgess qualified to run for his Post 4 position, and incumbent Post 5 BOE member Wayne Bagley qualified to run for reelection to that post. No one filed to run against either of them.


Cowsert voted today with the majority in passing HB 859, allowing concealed weapons on campuses.

Quick and Williams voted with the majority in favor of the bill in the House.

University of Georgia President Jere Morehead and Board of Regents Chancellor Hank Huckaby had lobbied against the bill.

All three represent the University of Georgia in the legislature, and Huckaby lives in Oconee County in Quick's district.


Xardox said...

Competition for elected office is a very good thing.
Positions have to formulated, challenged, and defended
in public and on record.
The campus concealed carry is a step into personal protection,
which will carry great responsibility.
At least UGA will be less of a target for crazy people
who are not crazy enough to choose defended erstwhile victims.

Anonymous said...

Uh oh Bill Cowsert!
"Athens Sen. Bill Cowsert Had $18,000 in Unpaid Taxes"